I cannot believe it’s not hummus!

I was SO sad when I discovered chick peas are NOT Paleo. WHAT?!

They are considered a legume.

Legumes are similar to grains.

They weren’t consumed by the paleo hunter-gatherer because they needed to be cooked in order to be edible.

Legumes also have similar traits to grains in their make-up; they contain phytates (phytic acid) which inhibit nutrient absorption and cause inflammation.

Luckily, there is a substitute….ZUCCHINI!

Weird, I know, but this recipe has been a great way for me to curb that hummus craving

Ingredients

2 medium zucchini, peeled and chopped

½ cup tahini

⅓ cup lemon juice

⅓ cup olive oil

3 garlic cloves

1½ teaspoons cumin

Salt & pepper to taste

wpid-2013-02-10_17-55-16_67.jpg

wpid-PhotoGrid_1360687952759.png

Directions

Combine all ingredients in the base of a food processor, and process until smooth.

Serve with crisp raw veggies, such as carrots, celery sticks, broccoli, cherry tomatoes, or cucumber slices, for dipping.

wpid-2013-02-10_18-40-56_232.jpg

*I found tahini at Vons in the section where all the kosher food is; just a tip because it took me awhile to find it. It has a peanut butter type texture it is not a spice. It’s a paste made from ground up sesame seeds*

Enjoy!

xo

P.S. honey has a sinus infection : ( I will post his favorite PALEO soup packed with sinus infection fighting herbs!

One thought on “I cannot believe it’s not hummus!

Leave a comment

Double Moon Pie

Life, Love, and Horses

A Girl's Wishes

Hi everyone. I am a 16 years old girl who wants to share the things in my life, both bad and good. So you guys can learn from it.

My Gluten Free Fitness Journey

Health, Fitness, Gluten-Free Vegan Food....Oh My!

StrongBraveHonest

Find YOUR strong

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

On the Road with Dawn and Clea

A place for all the information about the "On The Road" happenings and The place to read a little about arenas, riders, friends & family. We hope you enjoy!

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

paleoequestrian

Sixteen, Paleo, Equestrian - and all that comes with it.